You cannot capture a dream until you reach for it.

Autumn Thoughts

Autumn is a bittersweet season. I am enchanted by the scarlet, gold and russet leaves kissed by sunshine and brilliant against blue skies. The fragrance of autumn leaves as they crunch under my feet is heavenly. Watching the children rake those leaves to launch their little bodies and jump into the pile of leaves always triggers my laughter.

And memories of my own childhood joy jumping into the leaves.

Spicy apple cider, pumpkins and corn stalks from today to long ago are woven into those memories. Yet, the crisp chilly nights warn me the winter approaches. I’m not ready for winter–for snow and ice and darkness gobbling daylight.

You know what that means? Shoes. Sox. Even boots. I have to give up running around barefoot. Sigh. I want summer back.

SUMMER EMBERS

Glowing embers of summer fade

growing dimmer with autumn’s approach.

Daisies, roses and sunflowers

drop petals

onto carpets of grass.

Tiger lilies fold their bright blossoms

defying dull browns to come.

Scarlet, gold and russet kiss September leaves.

Crispness creeps into breezes

ruffling meadow grass,

nature transforms to glowing gold.

Summer unwraps Earth’s blanket of warmth

allowing autumn stealthy access.

                                                              Karen Elizabeth Rigley

FALL ARRIVES

Autumn leaves dance from

waving branches to desert

trees naked in wind.

                      Karen Elizabeth Rigley

 

 

Comments on: "Autumn Thoughts" (2)

  1. And to me, it’s the opposite. Autumn is the release from summer’s hell, especially summers like this past one. I’m wearing my first cashmere sweater of the season right now, enjoying soft, luxurious warmth against my skin while I work and read. Ah, glorious, glorious fall and the winter it brings next!

    I love your memories. Lovely.

Leave a Reply

